Levels: B1 | B1+ | B2

British English: ukicon

Published by: York Press

Description: York Simplified Classics introduce readers to the richness of English literature through the works of the world’s most famous authors. The series is beautifully illustrated in full colour with lively texts adapted and written by English Language Teaching experts. Each book captures the spirit and character of the original text. York Simplified Classics is graded into four levels, each using graded vocabulary, to allow readers to master one level before progressing confidently to the next.

Titles available:

Level 1

  • The Call of the Wild
  • Black Beauty
  • The Grand Babylon Hotel
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles
  • Kidnapped
  • Moby Dick
  • The Prince and the Pauper
  • Robinson Crusoe
  • Tom Brown’s Schooldays
  • Ten Short Stories Around the World
  • The Cherry Tree and Other Short Stories

Level 2

  • Treasure Island
  • Silas Marner
  • Around the World in Eighty Days
  • Billy Budd
  • David Copperfield
  • Far from the Madding Crowd
  • Huckleberry Finn
  • Journey to the Centre of the Earth
  • Moonfleet
  • Shirley
  • Twenty Short Stories Around the World
  • The Brave Hero and Other Stories
  • Jeha’s Friends and Other Short Stories

Level 3

  • Bleak House
  • Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde
  • Gulliver’s Travels
  • Jane Eyre
  • King Solomon’s Mines
  • Oliver Twist
  • A Tale of Two Cities
  • The Woman in White
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Thirty Short Stories Around the World
  • The Last Penny and Other Short Stories
  • The Donkey’s Secret and Other Stories
  • A Shepherd’s Dream and Other Stories

Level 4

  • The Prisoner of Zenda
  • A tale of Two Cities